Civil Services, Banking Jobs, Admission Alerts and Guidance Portal

Wednesday, April 29, 2009

ICC Cricket World Cup (ICC CWC) 2011 : Final to be held in Mumbai

  • Of the 49 matches due to take place in the tournament, 29 will be played in India, 12 in Sri Lanka and eight in Bangladesh. The 14 matches originally scheduled to take place in Pakistan have been redistributed with eight going to India, four to Sri Lanka and two to Bangladesh 
  • A total of 13 venues will be used for the tournament with eight of those in India, three in Sri Lanka and two in Bangladesh. The previous set-up with four hosts including Pakistan had 15 venues proposed with eight in India, four in Pakistan, two in Sri Lanka and one in Bangladesh
  • Bangladesh will now stage two of the four quarter-finals, with India and Sri Lanka hosting one each. Under the previous arrangement each of Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka were to have staged one each
  • The two semi-finals will be staged in India and Sri Lanka, with the final in India
  • Scheduling for the quarter and semi-finals will attempt to ensure that the host country will play at home should it qualify 
  • All venues for matches will be confirmed and announced in due course 
  • The event tournament director was confirmed as Prof. Ratnakar Shetty
  • The tournament secretariat will be based in Mumbai, India
Source : ICC Website

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Widget by LinkWithin
©2000-2011 : Powered by Blogger.

© 2013 Competition Exam : Knowledge Portal, All Rights Reserved.